Gapminder reflection

Gapminder has absolutely made my eyes open to the world. Before I have always thought that the world has been always the same. The high income country has always been high income and the low has always been low but after using Gapminder to data mining, I found out that each of the country are always progressing. Some countries develop rapidly while the others gradually grow or even fall. Using Gapminder, I am able to increase my knowledge on other countries and know more of them, what they have gone through since the 1800’s and how they are progressing.

 

The skills for Data mining could be helpful in the future when I want to discover how countries develop over time and how each of the countries slowly escaping from poverty and have the world to be in a better place. Possibly next time, i am able to manipulate them too to prove my point when my friends are arguing which country is the poorest or richest.

 

Questions:

 

Why when countries has good intentions to help the others, they tend to make it worse?

Will all the countries at a period will have the same GDP per capita and life expectancy?

In the future, will low income country exceed the high income country at a rapid rate similar to Japan and South Korea?

 

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Mr. Nguyen

     /  December 12, 2011

    Very good questions. Glad you liked Gapminder.

    Reply

Leave a comment